Fitness For Less

The weather is getting warmer, the days are getting lighter and summer is getting closer. And that can only mean one thing…early morning boot camps, of course!

Don’t worry, I haven’t decided to join the fitness blogging band wagon (I would be terrible at it!), I actually wanted to share with you a few items I have picked up over the years that have become staples in my fitness wardrobe. Exercise gear can often be expensive, and with the cost of gym membership added on top, getting in shape or keeping fit can become a bit of a wallet buster!

Well, firstly I don’t go the the gym, so that’s one cost I don’t need to worry about! Tom and I are lucky enough to live on Millfields Park and the River Lee, so I have miles of gorgeous running routes and trim trails to keep my wobbly legs happy. This morning we decided to reinstate our morning bootcamps, where we jog around the park and do circuits for about 30mins before work. Tom is a tough trainer, and I might grimace, snot and sweat my way through it but it’s a great way to start the day and best of all it’s totally free!

And now here comes the important bit, my kit. I bought these trainers from the Trinity Hospice charity shop on Queensway, London about 4 years ago. They are Asics, fit perfectly, and were £5! Asics retail at £50+ so this was an absolute bargain, and they have been with me through thick and thin the last few years. These guys helped me finish my first ever 5K Race for Life, they’ve crossed the finish line in the Olympic Stadium, plodded their way through 2.5 hours of running my first half marathon last year, got me through numerous spin classes, and here they are on my first 6.30am bootcamp of the year! They are a little worn, but they’ll be falling apart before I can be persuaded to buy a new pair!

photo 2

For years I have been running in old cotton t-shirts that make you sweat buckets. But a few months ago I came across a pair of almost new Karrimor running tops in an Oxfam in Cambridge for £2 each! Here I am wearing the blue one (the other is black). They are really comfortable and perfect for the summer season!

photo 3 photo 4

And here is the full outfit, plus a picture of me doing the monkey bars, simply because I’m usually rubbish at them but this morning I got across the whole way:)

photo 1

photo

Leave a comment